Happy Spanksgiving!

2004-11-29 @ 10:13 a.m.

Oh man tis Monday again. Back in the grind and i'm blown. After such an eventfully exhausting weekend i'm simply using today as an "unwind" day which means glancing at email, playing voicemail messages, not writing anything down and confining myself to my cube. To help bring a second smile to my face I will attempt to recall the holiday's events, hold on kids this will be a long one...
Tuesday:
So I pretended i had "court" by dressing up in full suit so that when I actually decided to show up for work it looked like I spent the day with civil servants. Instead, I drove my man to the airport to head back to Miami. He is currently in good graces with me since before he left we had a �talk� initiated by him, a rarity. He told me how he�s been an asshole, how it�s taking much longer than he expected to get used to the 9 -5 in NYC thing and how he�s consciously now trying to improve upon his behavior and treating of me. That made me feel good. So after dropping him off I circled JFK airport 3 times til my boy Tac called me back to give me the Ok to come scoop him. From Queens to Brooklyn to Manhattan I was on a journey all to hook my lilangelgrl at home up with some green. Oh how I miss those days of random adventure all for the sake of some trees. With little desire to show up for work I finally did at about 2:30pm and bid adieu to my new found partner in crime. I mean I didn�t wear a suit for nothing! I played out my Oscar winning performance and was in the clear. Left NYC at 8 got home to DC by 12.
Wednesday:
My eldest brother called to say he wasn�t coming in til Thursday morning so while my other bro and my mom went shopping I met up with lilangelgrl since she was passed out when I got in the night before. I played doctor in many forms in those few hours. Redecorated her room, examined, blazed, and dropped her at the train station. Met my fam at the house just in time for a wonderful home cooked meal, oh how I love moms. After dinner, K called, his parents were in town and he wanted me to swing by downtown. As I was getting ready to leave all my brothers boys who happen to be my man�s boys as well came by to kick it. They commented on my attire and I left laughing. I love having a slue of older brothers. Now, I�ve met K�s mom once before but only briefly, and this would be the first time I met his father. And I must say, for a couple of ministers these folks got down! We were throwing back the drinks in a lil jazz club while they asked me questions and his mom continually said �Wow, I love how you keep K so humble, he needs that.� K seemed pleased. He was also quite eager actually when he found out two of my girls were up the street and were gonna stop by to say hi. Haven�t seen my girl NK, who lives in Cali, since the new year and haven�t seen SG since graduation. That was nice, but what was interesting was that K was all up in it. Once he left, my girls questioned why I was hanging out with this �fine ass man�s� parents. I told them we were just friends. At about 1:30a, I swung by my boy CB�s crib. We chatted, we cuddled (he�s a big teddy bear), we got more hammered, I broke him off with a bud and then much to his disappointment I bounced and got home about 4am.
Thursday:
Turkey Day was GREAT! Started the day by running errands for my mom and in the process picked up 3 bunches of flowers. Dropped the first bunch off in Virginia at K�s. Spent some time with the parents then made my way to boy CC�s house in DC. Unbeknownst to me this would be the first Thanksgiving without him as he went up to NYC with his girl. So I gave the flowers for whom they were intended, his mom, and hungout with her and his lil sister over a cup of tea. Finally I made my way home for dinner. Now that my father has moved on to a more ethereal existence it was just me, my bros, and my mom. Without a dining room there was no dining table. Without a dining table there was no dinner table. So while my mom cooked, my bros and I set the coffee table up in the most beautiful Japanese/Indian style way to enjoy a meal. With pillows and candles and flowers abound, the wine and food seemed infinite. We dined as decadent as would the Greeks. So it was befitting that after the 3rd serving and a first go round of dessert we headed to see Alexander the Great. More to come from my commentary on this movie at another time. We came back home only to eat more, play Xbox, and watch DVD�s courtesy of Meta�s hookup. Passed out at about 3:30am. I must say one of the most satisfying things was when I heard my mom telling someone on the phone how "for the first time I feel like this place is finally a home." That made my whole trip sooo worth it. And as much as my brothers aggravated me about eating out so mom didnt have to cook this holiday I knew that it would all pay off. That's the greatest thing to as much as possible as little as it may be to try and give back to someone that has given soo much.What wonderful plentiful blessings we all have to be thankful for!
Friday:
After a lazy start and having to pull my brothers away from the Xbox we finally made our way out the house. Our �other� brother G met up with us and we all headed down to the other mall�the Smithsonian mall that is to check out the new Museum for the American Indian. Oh, I have plenty to speak on this but will have to leave that to another time as this is simply a play by play recap. With a full moon in site we headed back home. I was late for my high school�s pseudo reunion with our brother school. (On a side note I love how on the website they put they chose the most ethnic looking girls for the pics, that shit is hilarious!) Since I was late I missed the pre-gathering which included all of us brining stuff for my girl MM�s care package who is in Iraq right now. Instead I will send it from NYC. It was fun to see all the girls I love and all the boys who never took notice. We drank, took pics, and I saw my high school crush. He�s in a band now. And I think we had the longest conversation we�ve ever had since we met almost 10 yrs ago. I still love that lil ass white boy, he is too cute. Having been a tomboy in dress and in heart for the better part of high school it was amusing to see and hear from some girls who haven�t seen me in a while. One in particular came over to me and said "...wow, I have been staring at you across the way wondering if that was really you because you are gorgeous." I laughed, was flattered and realized I musta really looked like shit back in the day.
We ended up giving my high school crush a ride downtown as me and my girls were on the way to
Ozio�s to continue the party. We kicked it in the lounge then made our way to the VIP. My brother and his boys came thru and I got hammered beyond belief. Then I ran into JN and her girl FD. Oh how I love that I run into people I know all the time in good ol DC. Ended up kickin it with them for the rest of the night while my girl cker contemplated talking to my brother�s boy. At the end of the night, for the first time ever I had to surrender my car keys as I know my limits and I definitely crossed them. My brother drove me and my girls CL and PH back to where the night first started. And of course, I had to deal with my girls seducing him the entire way. After they left my bro told me how he got FD�s # with no intentions of using it just to see if he "still has it." Oh what fun. In bed that night about 4:30am.
Saturday:
My eldest brother took off way early in the morning to meet up with his wife in NJ. When the rest of us woke up we took my mom shopping. Spent all day shopping then went over to my brother�s boy�s house. This guy pretty much grew up with our family cause it was the whole Filipino community raising each others kids thing. It was good to see him as I haven�t seen him since he used to call me a egghead years ago. He�s all settled, living with his girl and made us dinner. Hung out there til about 11pm then my mom and bro dropped me off to get ready to meet up with the girls again in Adams Morgan. Finally found them on the strip at about 1230. Cker of course was ready to be on her way to sample yet another of her delicacies on her sampler platter, although from what I hear this one was more of a fried chicken finger�the kind where if you eat too much you feel sick. So we bid her adieu and I had a drink with RFJ and bygeorge. Hung out at the fake me out frat party which RFJ mistook for my hangout spot and then they were off to find one of her many high school crushes down the street. I went up the street and met up with JN and her sister. Kicked it there by the bar til Meta showed up then it was off to the dancefloor. Oh how I love to dance and oh how I realize how time has just flown us by. All the dudes that were trying to holler were young as hell! The first question out their mouths were "What school do you go to?" Oh well. It was good times nonetheless. In hopes to sober Meta up to drive, we met back up with RFJ and bygeorge at the pizza place. A big ass slice of pizza, a tank full of gas, and a bottle of water later, Meta and I caravanned home. In bed by 4am.
Sunday:
My last day�ah�.unwilling to wake Meta up, me and the fam headed to yet another mall to do more shopping. The sandwich at the mall was the first thing that we had eaten out in the whole 5 days. Did I say moms is great?? Anyways, after pulling a shitload of teeth, K met us at the mall. He met my brother I live with for the first time. They are so similar in a lot of respects it�s disgusting. Of course I find out later that my mom told my brother that K is gay just to protect me from the unlikelihood that my brother mentions anything to my man. Ha! I thought that was hilarious. Anyways I got my mom some stuff, I love being able to buy her shit. My brother bought me some shoes and K ended up giving me a ride home. We talked the whole scenic ride back through the park. I love driving in DC, each area has the capability to transform me to another time and place. K came up and I showed him Meta�s place. He questioned her on her love life and Meta schooled him on her recent series of life lessons she�s been employing and learning at the same time. More on living in the gray area at another time�I walked K to his car and he hugged me. He�s been acting removed lately so I was surprised when he told me he loved me. Ah, the tangled web we weave. We got on the road about 8:30pm after my brothers boy dropped off his sister for a ride back to NYC. She is a beautiful person. Nice music and conversation helped make the quick ride even quicker as we rolled on to the streets of NYC at 12am. My brother said to me "You sure have a lot of boys, don�t you have any girls?" I explained to him my general disgust for the pettiness that accompanies most girls and just enjoy kicking back in sweats most of the time, something I can do with my boys. It�s not my fault that in addition to my parents I had 2 older brothers to raise me! It�s funny how I live with my brother but I barely see him. Then when we do see each other we barely talk or play around, but the minute we hit home we revert back to the core of our little sister/big brother roles. It�s a beautiful thing and frustrating thing at the same time as its obvious the effects daily work life stress can do to people.

I came home to a box sitting by my door. Why anyone would leave a package out in the open like that in NYC is beyond me but too exhausted to open it I waited til this morning.

The first smile this morning was brought to my face was when I opened the box and inside was an Oscar the Grouch with the intended note saying "The nomination didn''t go through, but I still figured you deserved an oscar." HA! Ok I fell out laughing as this was from my oscar winning performance on Tuesday when I rolled into work at 2:30 in the afternoon. HA ok, been at work for 4 hours and haven�t done shit. Guess I gotta go back to the mind numbing corporate work shit.

P.S. I just love who I surround myself with. My friends, my family, even my man who just texted me for one of the first times ever, "hey baby, I love you." AHHHHHHHHHHH, I�m soooo struggling right now at work!

Ooh I know I will transfer my pics�whooohoo just bought myself more time!



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta