birthday bliss and blues

2004-05-07 @ 12:47 a.m.

It was my birthday Tuesday and what a blast it was!

I just got back from the vacation Sunday night so geting back to work was quite an adjustment. Not only did I have 350 emails in my inbox, i couldn't access it and I got hit with the Sasser virus (which is why I have been off...so belated Cinco de Mayo to you all!). But, for some reason...I was all smiles.

The next day when I came in for work on my birthday I was pleasantly surprised to see the overwhelming response from my clients and co-workers. I didn't tell anyone it was my birthday and in the past no one really remembered. But for some reason this year was different...there were flowers upon flowers, presents upon presents and cake upon cupcakes. And, what blew my mind was the gifts and stuff my clients sent were from my contacts personally, and NOT on the company tab... attached were simple notes as "...from your adoring fan," "...cause you ROCK..." etc. I had to give a major presentation that day to clients who flew in from Minnnesota and when I walked in they had a huge SpongeBob cake (in homage to my job) with candles and presents. Turns out they hand carried the cake from Minnesota...I mean damn that made me feel good. I was truly touched and surprised. It feels good to know that some people, actually those who count, appreciate how i bust my ass.

I got home to answer to my man's request of being home by 6 to be taken to a wonderful seafood dinner and then surprised with my present of "A Raisin in the Sun" on Broadway. Now, my man hates going to these things so it was truly a gift for him to take me. It was a great play minus P. Diddy's honest but terrible attempt in filling Sidney Poitier's shoes in the lead role. I mean with a cast like Phylicia Rashaad and Sanaa Lathan who were remarkable, how are you gonna try and LEARN how to act on Broadway?? But all in all it was a fabulous night. We got home and chilled the Moet. And just as my eyes started to well with the joy of the day combined with the overwhleming presence of the loss of my father just almost 2 yrs ago, the Moet bottle popped open. It hadn't been in the ice for more than 30 secs and just as I uttered the words "I miss my dad," the cork flew out and hit the ceiling. I jumped, but my man simply said "I think that's your Dad trying to tell you not to be sad on your birthday." I thought for a second, but you know what, he was right. I have never seen a bottle of champagne pop open by itself after being in ice for less than a minute.

I went to sleep finally after an incredible night of remembering what I have here and can't find in Paris, as tempting as it was.



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta