business

2004-05-12 @ 5:32 p.m.

I just got back to work from a business trip in Toronto. It was my first time to Canada and my first international business trip, that is, if you count Canada as "international." It was quite exciting, I felt quite professional. As much as I could never do the suit thing everyday to work as business casual to me is a button down, jeans and heels as opposed to kicks, I must say it is quite nice to don the suit every now and again. The way a good fitting suit can look on somebody regardless of price is priceless.

The professionalism left me though as soon as I walked into my Four Seasons suite with balcony and city view...ridiculous! I was such the ghetto child jumping on the bed opening everything, blasting the kick ass stereo, and barely able to withstand from opening every single little L'Occitane product they had sitting in the bathroom. My manager caught me though when she knocked on the door and I was fully in the bath robe chillin. We kicked it on the balcony bullshittin as she smoked her cigarette. Me and her are mad cool. That's nice.

I changed and we were off to a very artisitc adventurous dinner, 5 hours long at that. We were exhausted and drunk I couldnt wait to get back to the hotel and play with all the goodies.

I slept soooo well that night. DAMN that bed was mad comfortable!

The next day without my presentation materials cause I f*cked up on the international shipping, I still somehow managed to pull off a 2hr. presentation. It's very rewarding when people begin to have faith in you.

Now the highlight of my day?? The tour. We were visiting our sticker clients and they took us on a factory tour which was the coolest thing ever. I completely regressed to my 8 yr. old self when stickers were my LIFE. I told them that I was completely their primary consumer back in the day. It was so bad back then that I could never peel the sticky part off the back of my stickers. I would cut around the die cut then TAPE it into my book. I still have such issues with permanance. Thank goodness now they have the removable sticker albums!

You remember the part on Sesame Street where they would cut to a narrated live action bit where they show you how all the colors of the crayons are made or how M&Ms are made?? I'm telling you it was the coolest thing I was touching everything. The new stickers they are coming out with are phenomenal. They didn't have those in my day! And not only do they do all the character stickers out there but they run the industry. They do the little smiley faces you had on your report card in elementary school, all the Lisa&Frank shit i was obsessed with, and all the labels you see on your major shampoo, deodorant, butter, and body wash brands.

Got home late due to a delayed flight but the car waiting for me with my name in caps was a nice touch as was my new goodies courtesy of my hotel room.

Anyways I'm back now in the grind but those are the little moments that excite me about my job.

On a side note ...my parisian emailed me today. He makes me smile.



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta