heavy hittin

2004-02-04 @ 6:04 p.m.

Ok so I am a little late on the whole Janet thing (2 steps behind all the time it seems), partly because I missed it air live since I was busy mating Ipods (the greatest thing EVER!) with my girl meta and partly because my office was obsessed with the close-ups and replays.

Moving on, 1,000 songs, a 4 hour drive, 2 hours of sleep and 50 emails later, I see that it took but one day, post Boob event, for my wonderfully giant media mogul company of mine to send out mass email after mass email to address the situation as a company and how we as employees should feel about the situation. The BigWigs are all shitting in their pants right now and are coddling us employees so as for us not to feel at fault...

"Our Super Bowl production had great intentions and good planning but fell victim to the perils of live television and a misplaced trust with certain performers...

"We have established that no one in our company was aware in advance of any plan to rip Ms. Jackson�s clothing"

"This is a great place and, despite what a few are saying, you should feel proud to be at --- Networks."

"We have a great, strong organization, and we will get through this. "

These words taken from 3 separate emails sent to us one from Coporate, then from the Conglomerate Networks, and one from the Network itself. I laugh as I read every single one. Though I probably shouldn't be sharing this I think its absolutely hysterical. Is it really THAT serious? I mean really, is it?

All in all, although there are aspects of this company that I am desperately trying to change in my miniscule role here, I am proud.

Big Businees is big business its the nature of the industry now. Survival of the fittest or really the biggest and dirtiest. The independents are quickly fading out for exactly that reason, well that, and um, Wal-Mart!

Yes, the programming is questionable, as are often the marketing tactics, but let me tell you they treat their employees right, maybe not with salary, but by educating and supplying the tools needed to make that next step and leave this place if you so choose. But who would want to leave the "First Choice Place to Work?" *wink ,wink*

By no means do i want to sound like the #1 fan, but I am torn on a daily basis... when I first started I was attracted to the glamour of it all but as the weeks past I became more and more disheartened and sick with the amount of idiocy that takes place on a daily basis behind the scenes. I couldn't stand the tricks I had to turn to make a buck for the company. And perhaps it is naive, but almost 2 yrs later I have found my voice and continue to try and stand up for what i believe in.

I had my first commercial shoot the other day it was empowering to be able to tell the producers, "no, there is no racial diversity in the casting, blah blah blah." So, that makes me feel good to know, as young and corny as it sounds, that I am trying to make a difference.

Ok, give me some wine, the cheese is getting to me.



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta