Strawberry Toast to the New Year

2005-01-10 @ 4:52 p.m.

Theme for the year, for life: Strawberry picking
Theme Song: The Beatles, Strawberry Fields Forever

I�ve never been a fan of New Year�s Resolution�s and instead just been marinating on life for a while now. I got promoted on my first day back from break. That was great, I actually got the call from my new VP during the holidays, and I couldn�t ask for a better new year�s gift as I�ve busted my ass for a while now. It was a proud moment when they announced it. With my brother�s promotion as well and my other brother finally graduating in the spring, this year is looking on the up and up! I am thankful for my blessings and try my best to show thanks in some form on a daily basis. I had a great Holiday break with some great family bonding. I love family, they are each person�s greatest asset. In addition, with Meta�s help, my mother�s bathroom sink is finally fabulously finished and functional! Such an accomplishment. I�ve seen my friends pull together in some of the toughest times; an honest reflection of another�s capacity to care. And bygeorge went ahead and plucked her own juicy strawberry and savored every moment in a random voyage across the Atlantic; a move I would do, so proud I am. But, I digress, on to the more important�the explanation of the strawberries.

They say that what you don�t know can�t hurt you. But, as I�ve seen with some of my closest friends recently it is the exact opposite. The unknown terrifies them and is directly fogging their mirror of self-reflection on a daily basis. It�s a heartbreaking thing to see how such a strong person can be broken down into a shell for reasons they don�t know but for the simple reason being because they don�t know. The combination of this with a devastatingly miraculous accident my friend was involved in this weekend, an accident I could�ve been in had I not changed plans continuously, and an old friend being unknowingly shipped to war at the last minute without proper training has shifted my view on things a bit. This old friend, BB, reminded me of the Strawberry Buddhist story this weekend that concludes in the moral of �don�t run from your past, don�t chase your future, savor the present.� In the story the �present� is represented by a strawberry, and let me tell you my friends, pluck that strawberry and every other one that appears in times especially of self-doubt. Without any malicious intent, just treat yourself. Innocently run through those fields of strawberries, and pick each one that appeals, some may end up sour, but that�s just cause to pluck another. These are the moments in life you remember. These are the ones that write your story. I�ve never been a fan of making plans, but now even more so. People come and go from you life for reasons, lives are spared for a reason, shit happens, but so do fabulous opportunities that if we were to restrict ourselves due to some sort of overhanging societal no-no�s, you in turn are letting the enjoyment of life pass you by.

I end with the theme song�s lyrics:

Let me take you down, cos I'm going to Strawberry Fields
Nothing is real and nothing to get hung about
Strawberry Fields forever

Living is easy with eyes closed
Misunderstanding all you see
It's getting hard to be someone but it all works out
It doesn't matter much to me
Let me take you down, cos I'm going to Strawberry Fields
Nothing is real and nothing to get hung about
Strawberry Fields forever

No one I think is in my tree
I mean it must be high or low
That is you can't you know tune in but it's all right
That is I think it's not too bad
Let me take you down, cos I'm going to Strawberry Fields
Nothing is real and nothing to get hung about
Strawberry Fields forever

Always, no sometimes, think it's me
But you know I know when it's a dream
I think I know I mean a "Yes" but it's all wrong
That is I think I disagree
Let me take you down, cos I'm going to Strawberry Fields
Nothing is real and nothing to get hung about
Strawberry Fields forever
Strawberry Fields forever
Strawberry Fields forever

[Cranberry sauce...]



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta