"Elevator Neighbor"

2004-10-13 @ 4:32 p.m.

So theres this wierd dude that works in my building who always makes really off collar comments to me. I don't know him but he rides in my elevator bank and takes it upon himself to converse with me. I will simply be getting some soup in the cafeteria and he will appear out of nowhere and question my soup choice. "Why would you want that?" and then walk away.

He will be in my crowded ass elevator and just stare at me not saying a word and then when getting off on his floor, turn, look right at me and say "Nice talking to ya."

So I've made it a point to try to avoid this sort of akward encounter with this guy who happens to be extra extra tall as well(not that thats a bad thing but adds to the wierdness of the overall situation as i'm pretty short).

So this morning I see him waiting for the elevator, I pretend I don't see him as I am 'distracted by my ipod.' The elevator arrives and he goes for it but then another one opens so I dart for that one and out of nowhere there he appears in my elevator!

So I'm holding my ID in this crowded ass elevator and he grabs it. "You never told me your name." Just imagine the look on my face please. He says my name and I correct him as I don't go by that. He shows me his ID "This is who I am." OK, grrrreat.

By the time I get to my desk there is an email from him questioning the root of my last name. So I question his, "Native American" he writes. So I write back "German" thinking that would end the conversation, a simple one word answer to his question of my name. I then immediately get an ESSAY!

Here it is word for frikcing word!

Someone please help me make sense of this!

Keep in my mind...I don't know this dude!:

"Interesting, and not at all surprising. (Though I was thinking more along the lines of an Eastern warrior culture.)

There's a compelling fierceness that lurks behind your reserved, guarded "at-work" persona. I noticed it the first time I encountered you (in an elevator, I think). Whatever it is (I have some hypotheses that I'll keep to myself), it struck/strikes me as being the kind of spirit that fuels the righteous anger and passion one finds in revolutionary movements and moments -- revolts, protests, battles, conquests -- that history remembers and records.

Not to overwhelm you this kind of thing (I hardly know you), but I guess I believe in being "real" with folks. And I have no doubt that you believe the same.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to learning more about my intriguing new work acquaintance (whose ID doesn't reflect her name). And believe me when I say that I'm not hitting on you, tying to "get at you" or anything of that nature. I just like exploring the lives of fellow human beings.

Let me ask you this: Are you sure that media/communications is the thing for you? I may be wrong, but I get the sense that you've been chosen for something else�something that turns on pro-social advocacy and/or leadership.

Don't feel obliged to respond, but I'd certainly be curious to hear your thoughts.....

Your Elevator Neighbor --"



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta