cut the weight of my shoulders

2004-10-04 @ 10:16 p.m.

I've done it ...I up and got a haircut!!
A full year its been exactly, with the exception of my self-destructive acts at work where in effort to break free from the shackles of coporate being I would cut my hair over the trashcan... but ALAS, I got one done, professionally....and it was FREE!!

And although at first I felt like a shaggy dog...it's great! I have bangs, well sort of, for the first time since I was 12 and they cut like 6 inches off the overall length!

It's amazing what some pampering can do and the best part about is that they didn't blow dry it, they pinned me from the moment I sat down. They knew i don't blow dry my hair, (cause I dont know how) so they gave me a practical cut. They scrunched it a bit, took my picture and voila I was off to work...

I must say, i came back to work (2 hours later) and they loved it! I was surprised, apparently I am a true "before and after" case in their eyes. Me, I was refreshed, my head that much lighter, metaphor or not, it worked.

That night I hung out with V...I haven't given much background on him yet but as I make my way down the alphabet I will at least for my own sake.... It was his bday, we were both sickly, but we both seemed to literally cough up a good time. He had no plans so we caught a flick and some food.

He noticed my hair right away, far cry from my man who barely took note and commented even lesser. Not that its a major thing but with V, it was straight off with the compliments.

I tell you, words carry power, and that made me feel good. But then again, he always does. He has no restraints in telling you how good you look, how nice you are, how ambitious. As hard as it is for me to accept a compliment I have learned to with V cause otherwise he'd beat my ass, teling me I deserve it and that I need to let someone be kind to me for once. He is true.

It was an interesting evening to say the least. As many times as we've hung out, kicked it, chilled, it was never on some public affectionate tip. Maybe it was the hair, maybe it was the shared vulnerability and company in not feeling 100%, but it was something....nothing bad or line crossing but something for sure, but I guess there always has been between me and him, but this night it was just ultra exposed.

He really knows how to make a girl feel special, like you are the only person in his world at that moment.

We had such a great time... If anyone hasn't gone, they need to go to Bubba Gumps in Times Square NYC, cause that place is CRAZY. He took me there for my bday as a joke and he wanted to return for his, and now its our place to escape from it all.

That shit is like the twilight zone...you leave with an experience searching for words. Talk about wierd, just go and you will see what I mean.

All in all that was a great day, I'm still fighting off a cough but thats probably cause they got me working like a madwoman up in that piece that my body hasn't fully had time to rev back up.

On a side note, I went to a poetry slam tonight and it got me all inspired again. Meta and i tripped over a visual voyage back down memory lane of pure genius and seriosity and now i'm gearing back on the writing tip....



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta