Cheezin

2004-05-18 @ 10:33 p.m.

Wooohooo what a great time on Friday...we are still talking about it at the office. I mean at first I was a bit rusty on the whole "having people over" thing but after my second vodka tonic i was allllrrriiighttt. I had my people from college who didn't know each other, people from work, and some other randoms and it was GREAT. Man oh man how i miss that.

At 6 pm there were already 10 people at the crib. Drinks were flowing, pizza was on the way, music was up, and people were just straight up kicking it in sneaks and jeans. I did the first introduction as people rolled in and then that was it. If you didn't socialize after that point it was not my responsibility. I have a smile on my face right now as I think about it. My boss was straight chillin...drunk...then her boy shows up, rolls an L and it was OVER. Between her and I there was no way that my former "mentee" and her former employee, J, was not trying at least a whiff of the herb. Now I have been on a serious hiatus (~2yrs) until Amsterdam which I could not ignore and then I succumb to it yet again when my boss passed it in front of my face. Oh man it was too funny, poor guy was so touched.

Then my moms showed up...wow that was kinda surreal. Knowing that she was in town this weekend I didn't think I was gonna see her that night. But my mom is so cool man. She shows up talking some "I don't feel like staying at my sisters so since your brother's outta town I'm staying here." So I let her in as i was completely WASTED by a mere 8 pm and she was so chill. She brought the greatest munchies, the always much needed toilet paper, and some home made filipino food which I've been craving and completely hit the spot. It was so great. She kicked it in my brothers room watching movies after a brief hello to everyone.

Now, everyone in the crib was a bit taken a back at first but then they realized how cool my mom really is....but thats a whole nother entry. I love her so much, such a strong woman, my best friend for real.

The highlight of the evening I must say was when me and two of my friends began analyzing the framed picture above my computer. It's a photo of my Dad straight outta the '50s. He's standing all James Bond style in a turtleneck and blazer holding a leather coat with a leather luggage at his feet. The backdrop is the cafe car of an Amtrak train of the time. It looks like a still straight out of a black and white movie fo real. And the three of us just sat here analyzing it...it was so great.

They were just admiring it as an awesome photo and when I told them it was my Dad they were like wow. That felt good. Granted I was a bit high so I was in that deep philosophical mode but it felt really great to talk about my Dad. I miss him.

All in all it was a great evening; people met people, set up times to kick it, and I passed out on my couch as the Chapelle Show DVD ran on the TV. My girl wanted me to roll with her out but i was done. Friday at midnight and I was done and it was great.

It was such the hype at the office Monday that we are thinking about making it a regular thing of sorts to just let it all out. Meta, was scheduled to come but missed out due to family sitting. So, all that means is you gotta make the next one. You need it...

And, Tac, thanks for the partial motivation to being social again, and the shout on your entry and if you ever find your self in Hell's Kitchen...

Anyways, aside from all that I'm exhausted. We had an offsite at the Bronx Botanical Gardens (beautiful!) today and I was chilling, sitting on a metal banister outside on the walkway when my phone rang. Now, my feet were locked in the metal bars to balance myself and i was holding a wine glass. And as I leaned forward to grab my phone I completely fell FLAT on my face cause I couldn't get my feet untanlged in time. Pretty much I gave everyone a good laugh and my knees are all f*cked up now since they and my elbows broke the fall...the glass however, seemd to remain intact.

The point of this story is that with all that it was worth it because when I picked up the phone it was C from Paris. Damn. Damn.Damn. Damn.that completely made my day!

Ended up missing a presentation in favor of a chat , but whatever. I totally did not expect to ever get a call and what a surprise it was!!!

Ok, I'm out to bathe myself and catch some much needed zzzzz's...all with a smile on my face!



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta