Love and Money

2003-12-05 @ 9:52 a.m.

It's amazing how you can spend time with someone's family and see where are all their qualities come from, some good , some bad, but all inherited nonetheless. It's the point where you can't seem to fault them for their personality defects (if you want to call them that), but where you see that they can't help it, it's in their genetic make-up. That's the point when you realize, beyond all the disagreements and squabbles you are just like DAMN, i just love you, because thats all that really matters. You pretty much see in the generations past what you too will become. So then that makes you question, is it all truly fated? Or, do you have control of your own destiny?

----------------

On another note we had Diversity Training all day yesterday, an initiative that MTV Networks is really pushing through. It was pretty interesting, anyways a huge argument arose about whether or not MTV is properly diverse in its programming. One side felt we did, another felt that we aren't because we have absolutely no conservative programming on air. Are we giving the public what they want or are we feeding them an unrealistic, rarely unattainable lifestlye therefore contributing to low self-esteem and adding insecurity to our youth? How come we play the same videos over and over again and how come the lyrical content of what we play has diminished so? The point was that is what brings in the ratings therefore fueling Ad sales therefore puttin money in our pockets. During this discussion I so wanted to quote a Jigga verse off his new album, a verse i haven't been able to get out of my head. It's a unviversal verse I feel that rings true for anything and is a bit disconcerting...is it truly all about the money?

I have more to say with more coming...but for know I will leave you with this:

"I dumb down for my audience

And double my dollars

They criticize me for it

Yet they all yell "Holla"

If skills sold

Truth be told

I'd probably be

Lyricly

Talib Kweli

Truthfully

I wanna rhyme like Common Sense

(But i just did five Mil)

I ain't been rhymin like Common since

When your sense got that much in common

And you been hustlin since

Your inception

Fuck perception

Go with what makes sense

Since

I know what i'm up against

We as rappers must decide what's most impor-tant

And i can't help the poor if i'm one of them

So i got rich and gave back

To me that's the win, win

The next time you see the homie and his rims spin

Just know my mind is workin just like them

The rims that is)"



before | | after




� FOUR ; design help by inez; hosted by meta